NYAM Studio… Let the sewing begin.

After the all of the “elbow grease”, I think I need another elbow. In fact, I think I may need to purchase a few shares of stock in the local home improvement stores. I have spent more time in those stores than I care to discuss. But it was all worth it because I am in love with the fact that everything in the studio turned out exactly as I envisioned.

The primary sewing machine that I will use to sew clothing is the vintage Singer 201-2 model. This sewing machine is very popular and is built to last many lifetimes. It’s one of the best vintage machines available and produces beautiful stitches.

IMG_8622

The stitches are a “true straight” and consistent at various stitch lengths.

IMG_0054

The mid-century sewing cabinets were cleaned, refinished and waxed. The cabinets will house the 201-2  sewing machine. These are the original cabinets that contained the machines. The machine weigh a ton, so these cabinets are necessary to sew comfortably.

IMG_9895

You guessed it! The sewing machine had a previous life which leaves a mess to clean up for its second life. I spent days cleaning, soldering and rewiring.  More often than not, the sewing machine has to be rewired to operate safely.

Before:

IMG_8556

After:

IMG_8560

 

The sewing machine and cabinet are ready for the challenge. Now, I can sew like a crazy lady. LoL. But, not too crazy!

IMG_0050

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

