NYAM Studio Inspiration

As the final adjustments are nearing the end at NYAM Studio, the time has arrived for NYAM Modern Vintage clothing line to fill the air. During this process of gathering inspiration, concepts, and sketches, I decided to engage myself daily with something inspiring to stimulate my creativity as I solidify the story I want to convey with the clothing.

One magazine that inspires me is PoP’Africana. PoP’Africa is an independently published magazine created and edited by Oroma Elewa. I was inspired by Oroma Elewa’s fearlessness and definitiveness about her vision and point of view as it relates to fashion and art.IMG_0046

Now, let me share my two most inspiring and favorite articles in PoP’Africana, Issue 1. The photographs were absolutely stunning and the styling was impeccable.

The first article that inspired me is titled “NATIVE, Inspired by The Famished Road”.

IMG_0122

Photo Copyright Omoro Elewa, PoP’Africana Issue 1

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The second article that inspired me is titled “ATAUI DENG and Why We Love Her”.

IMG_0123

Photo Copyright Omoro Elewa, PoP’Africana Issue 1

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oroma Elewa published only two limited edition issues of the PoP’Africana magazine. Although the magazines were published a few years ago,Oroma Elewa’s work continues to be an inspiration.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

